What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”

The above widely known musing of Shakespeare’s Juliet suggests that the names we ascribe to objects are often random. However, that doesn’t stop me from overanalyzing the importance and significance behind any given name.

Perhaps this stems from my education as a communication major. I believe that words have meaning and therefore a name holds importance. I’m almost ashamed to admit how much time I spent trying to think of a name for my blog. I wanted it to be short and sweet but also bold and interesting. So after a couple of hours of back and forth I finally decided.

Growing up one of my all-time favorite stories was Harold and the Purple Crayon. This classic book follows a young boy (Harold) who has the power to create a world of his own, simply by drawing it with (you guessed it) his trusty purple crayon. Harold wants to go for a walk in the moonlight, but there is no moon, so he draws one. He has nowhere to walk, so he draws a path. He has many adventures, but, in the end, he draws his own house and bed and goes to sleep.

It amazes me how stories that are written for children can hold so much relevance for adults. Harold taught me the value of self-reliance, acceptance, gratitude and the power of imagination. As a classic Type-A personality, I tend to see the world through a black and white frame. But in the past few months I’ve been learning the value of living life without a constant agenda and timeline.

2 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Know you will always be supported and LOVED (inside or outside the lines.) Best wishes on your journey. – Mom

Leave a Reply

