Pumpkin Cookies

I have always loved the holidays. I realize this is a lot like saying I love soft cuddly puppies but nonetheless I do J I think it has something to do with the element of family gathering and tradition. I love getting together with the people I love most and just eating, relaxing, and catching up. But mostly I love helping my mom, sister, grandma, and aunts with all of the cooking and baking. Not to mention the end result—all the delicious food on the table at Thanksgiving & Christmas.
But the real fun starts during Halloween.  It snuck up on me this year. Before I knew it the aisles of the grocery store were stocked with candy corn, mallow crème pumpkins, and bags upon bags of candy for trick-or-treaters. But what caught my eye at Target this past weekend was canned pumpkin. You know the kind I’m talking about…

 

 

 

The recipe itself was pretty straightforward. I’ve provided handy dandy pictures illustrating the steps. It’s mainly combining the dry ingredients with the wet. Then I formed the dough into tablespoon size balls and put on baking sheets lined with parchment paper (yay for easy clean-up!).

The cookies were then taken out of the oven and cooled on wire racks. Once the cookies cooled completely – I gave it about an hour – I whipped up the cream cheese frosting. Quick tip: I learned from my mom that one of the easiest ways to make cookies look fancier is by drizzling frosting with a piping bag. Don’t have a piping bag? No problem, neither do I! All you need is a Ziploc bag. Fill the bag with the frosting and then snip off a tiny corner and abra cadabra! A piping bag!

 

 

 

Overall, I was very pleased with these cookies. My apartment smelled beyond delicious for the remainder of the evening and the cookies had a pleasant pumpkin taste set off by the light drizzle of cream cheese frosting. Definitely worth a try, but let your taste buds be the judge. Give this recipe a try!

Adapted from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen blog

Pumpkin Cookies with Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:

  1. 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 1 teaspoon baking powder
  3. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  4. 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  5. 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  6. 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  7. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  8. 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened
  9. 1 cup white sugar
  10. 1/2 cup brown sugar
  11. 1 1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  12. 1 egg
  13. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  14. 4 oz. cream cheese
  15. 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  16. 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, and salt; set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugars. Add pumpkin, egg, and vanilla to butter mixture, and beat until creamy. Stir in the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture by hand until just combined. Drop on prepared baking sheets by heaping tablespoonfuls; Butter the bottom of a drinking glass and then dip the bottom of the glass in a bowl of sugar. Flatten the dough balls with the bottom of the glass until they are about ¾ inch thick, dipping the glass in sugar as necessary to prevent sticking.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 13 to 15 minutes. Cool cookies on wire rack. Once cookies have cooled completely, frost or drizzle with cream cheese frosting.
  4. While the cookies are cooling make frosting: In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and pumpkin pie spice and beat until smooth and creamy.
Leave a Reply

